Acknowledgements

The Stormwater Committee

The Best Practice Environmental Management Guidelines for Urban Stormwater was commissioned and overseen by the Stormwater Committee; a partnership between Environment Protection Authority (EPA), Melbourne Water Corporation and local government aimed at improved stormwater quality. The Committee members are:

Rob Skinner (Chair) City of Kingston
Claude Cullino City of Monash

Tim Fisher Australian Conservation Foundation

Helen Gibson Department of Infrastructure

Phill Johnstone Environment Protection Authority

Ken McNamara City of Hobson's Bay

Bruce Mitchell Urban Development Institute of Australia

Jane Nathan Local Government and Planning Advisory Council

David Rae Municipal Association of Victoria

Ian Robins City of Wyndham

Jim Viggers Port Phillip Catchment and Land Protection Board

Ross Young Melbourne Water Corporation

Project Management

Overall project management was carried out by

Chris Chesterfield—Melbourne Water Corporation

Technical content and text editing: Alan Alderson, Robin Allison, Chris Chesterfield, Barbara Lopreiato, Phill Johnstone

Document coordination: Robin Allison

Figures and photographs: Robin Allison and Barbara Lopreiato, Peter Drummy

Figures and photographs

Many of the figures and photographs included in these Guidelines have been reproduced, with permission, from a range of sources. The authors wish to thank those publishers and authors concerned. Significant sources include: *Water Sensitive Urban Design Guidelines for the Perth Metropolitan Region* (Whelans et al., 1993) and *Stormwater Management—A Guide for Floridians* (Florida Department of Environmental Regulation, undated).

Contributors

A number of individuals contributed to the writing of these Guidelines:

Chris Chesterfield (Melbourne Water Corporation), Tim Fletcher (Melbourne Water Corporation)

Tom McMahon, Hugh Duncan, and Lance Mudgway (Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Catchment Hydrology, Melbourne University)

Mike Sharpin (NSW EPA)

Andy Roy, Myf Browning, Joe Pickin and Phill Johnstone (EPA Victoria)

Tony Wong and Sara Lloyd (CRC for Catchment Hydrology, Monash University)

Peter Breen (CRC for Freshwater Ecology, Monash University)

Max Gilbert and Peter Drummy (Gilbert Consulting and CT Management)

David Rae and John Bennett (John Bennett and Associates)

Robin Allison (Woodward Clyde)

Stormwater Technical Working Group

Many technical issues were debated and resolved by the technical working group and the authors wish to thank the members for their contributions. Members were:

Tom McMahon and Hugh Duncan (CRC for Catchment Hydrology)

Peter Breen (CRC for Freshwater Ecology)

Phil Durstan (Coomes Consulting Group)

Paul Healy (Mornington Shire Council)

Chris Chesterfield, Tim Fletcher and Scott Seymour (Melbourne Water Corporation)

Phill Johnstone (EPA)

Peter Vollebergh (Department of Natural Resources and Environment)

Robin Allison (Woodward Clyde)

Mike Sharpin (NSW EPA)

Education Program Case Studies

Examples of education programs were gratefully provided by:

Richard Whately (Melbourne Water Corporation)

Pam Pagigotis and Donna Stoddart (City of Manningham)

Katrina Fox (Waterwatch Victoria)

Simon Fell (Melbourne Waterwatch)

Melinda Nutting (EPA)

Maree Pollard (Merri Creek Management Committee)

Ken Taylor (EPA)

Rik Brown (City of Banyule)

Bob Winters (Gould League)

Eric Bottomley and Cinnamon Evans (CERES)